Fall Fever

Hola, lovelies!

XOXOAliciaHeartsYou here!  So glad to be writing for DialA once again.  So yesterday was the first day of October, and you all know what that means.  It’s Fall…Autumn…whichever one you call it.  It’s finally here!  Which means it’s time to bring out those sweaters and boots and put away the shorts and bandeaus until next year.  Personally, my favourite fall fashion trends are equestrian inspired boots and leather jackets.  But if you want to read more about the rest of the fall trends, be sure to read the previous post from MassieBlockLove.

Now with a new season comes new decor, of course.  Faux leaves, scarecrow statues, and pumpkins.  Right now, my house is beginning to fill up with halloween decorations as well.  I’m loving all of the jack-o-lanterns, candy corn and ghost inspired decorations.  Every time I see them it makes me feel like Halloween is even closer than it actual is.  Especially when I smell the aroma of pumpkin pie, candy corn, or pumpkin caramel latte each time I walk through my house(thank you Yankee Candles, White Barn Co., and Slatkin & Co.).  I absolutely love it!

Speaking of lattes, has anyone tried Starbucks’ Pumpkin Caramel Latte yet?  What about their Salted Caramel hot chocolate or Salted Caramel Mocha?  I’m obsessed with the Pumpkin Spice Creme Frappuccino…it’s an ah-mazing fall drink for all of you non-coffee drinkers.  Any of these are perfect for those “I just want to curl up in a cozy blanket” kind of days.  It might just be me, but when I’m having those kinds of days, I don’t want to have to get up and drive all the way to a Starbucks just to enjoy one of those undeniably delicious drinks.  So I have a recipe(almost identical to the real one) for their Pumpkin Spice Latte for you lovelies to enjoy:

2 cups milk

2 tablespoons canned pumpkin

1 to 2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

1 to 2 shots espresso, which is about 1/4 cup of espresso or 1/2 cup of strong brewed coffee

Whipped cream(to put on top)

First, whisk together the milk, pumpkin and sugar.  Then cook on medium heat, stirring it until it steams. Remove from heat, then stir in the vanilla and pumpkin pie spice.  Pour that into a blender and blend for about 15 to 20 seconds.  Next you can either pour it into a mug and add the espresso/coffee shot on top under the whipped cream, or blend in the coffee shot and then pour it into a mug and add whipped cream.  I like it both ways, but it’s your choice!  I hope you enjoy it!

Last but not least: fall makeup trends and makeup tips!  I’ve been seeing(and using) so many brown smoky eyes lately.  They are great for any occasion whether it’s going to school, the mall, or just hanging out with friends.  A brown smoky eye is the way to go.  Nature inspired eye makeup is also In for Fall.  Browns, dark greens, and subtle reds and oranges.  Oh and ladies, do nawt forget to use chap stick or lip moisturizer before slicking on your lipgloss or lipstick.  I promise you your luscious lips will appreciate it in the long run when they aren’t dry and cracked from the crisp, Autumn breeze.  But just in case, here’s a really easy and simple lip scrub that will help keep those lips pretty, healthy, and smooth:

1 teaspoon olive oil

1 teaspoon honey

2 teaspoons sugar

Mix the olive oil, honey, and sugar together in a small dish until it becomes a thick paste.  Coat your lips with it and let it sit for a few minutes.  After a few minutes, gently wipe off the scrub and dead skin with a wet towel.  Immediately after all of the scrub is wiped off, apply either vaseline or lip balm to moisturize your lips.  Hope this helps!

Oh! I almost forget! If you have a twitter, be sure to tweet the “#MyOctoberWish” tweet.  I already did mine (on both my real life and RP accounts).  If you want, comment yours below, I’d love to read them.

Keep on Alpha-ing♥
-XOXOAHY

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Now to announce our September Polyvore Contest winner!  And the winner is….Massiekurpcalpha!  Congratulations, chica!

We are having another polyvore contest for October!  The theme is fall fashion, so make an outfit that would be perfect for fall. Good Luck!

4 thoughts on “Fall Fever

  1. Hey XOXOAHY! Wonderful fall post girlie. Thanks for posting the recipe to Pumpkin Spice Lattes, I’ll definitely be doing that this Friday night. 🙂 I ah-gree, keeping your lips moisturized is very important. Thanks for the great tips!

    Kisses! Sincerely, GMB

  2. Hola Alicia,

    I heart the post! I heart pumpkin spice lattes. Chapped lips are a no-no. Brown smokey eyes sound great for fall. I heart you and your post! Gracias and adios!

    Amor,
    Skye Hamilton

  3. Hey, Alicia!

    Really great post, and I have to agree on all counts! I recently made the transition from my shimmery summer bronzed eye look to a deeper brown smokey-eye and I really like how it looks with my green eyes!

    Always,
    Mandi

Leave a Reply

